Testimonials

Bought the voucher for an Owl experience for my daughter…lisa and Steve were lovely so were the owls… Nice few hours out at this hidden gem..worth a visit
Tina Crewe
.
A late Christmas present from my mum.. as she knows my love for owls.. we travelled down not knowing what to expect.But we came across Steve cracking jokes the moment we arrived making us feel very welcome,we arrived and had a introduction to what was going to happen and had the opportunity to meet some gorgeous owls..I was a bit wary about holding them but Lisa made me feel very safe and reassured me they wouldn’t eat me..had a lovely time and had some pictures..definitely recommend to take a trip down, a very clean place
Hayleigh Akansas Trip Advisor
.
A small group of us spent the afternoon photographing the owls and hawks in a variety of static and flying situations. Steve & Lisa were very good at posing the birds and making suggestions for good shots. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very patient and accommodating with us. As a result I think we all got some good shots that we wouldn’t have managed without their help. Thoroughly recommended and I will be going again (Hopefully in the sunshine!)
Trip Advisor
.
I booked an ‘owl experience ‘ for my son’s 11th birthday. Lisa and Steve were so welcoming and instantly put him at ease. He fed babies, flew and walked a variety of different owls and learnt so much. He really didn’t want to leave. He was chuffed with his gift from Lisa and Steve, a pic of his favourite owl and a huge owl balloon. Really thoughtful. He will be back as a young volunteer in the summer holidays. One happy birthday boy. Thank you.
Sara O’Hara   31st May
.
Shropshire falconry is run by two very dedicated professionals, Steve and Lisa. Their hard work makes sure any experience you have with them is outstanding
Jamie Gill Mundy
.
I came here for an owl experience that I was given as a Mother’s Day present. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and knowledgable and clearly had a passion for falconry. I would highly recommend a visit here to anyone with a keen interest in birds of prey
Nicole Dent 4th June

 

Went to the Owl Experience today which was fantastic! Steve and Lisa welcomed the group and ran us through an intro to inform us more about the extensive work they do (takes about 10 mins) and then they introduced us to the Owls which is a great experience and would highly recommend.

By attending the Owl Experience you get the opportunity to gain knowledge about the birds and hold them too.
Steve and Lisa have vast Falconry experience and knowledge and put together a brilliant experience. Definitely not to be missed!

Dave Thorney Ellesmere

 

We booked an Owl Experience for some family members to celebrate my Dad’s 70th Birthday.
We had a range of ages within the party
We could not have been more impressed with our visit
Steve and Lisa are clearly passionate about their birds and this came through in everything they did
The birds were amazing. Steve and Lisa were knowledgeable and friendly.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit and we will be visiting again
Thanks for a wonderful day

Lloraine Stoke on Trent 2/5/17

 

I went with a Jessops group for a days photography experience (they are not open to casual visitors, you need to be part of a pre-booked group). It was excellent for getting close to a wide range of captive bred birds, they have a great range of different locations for photographing the birds, and we were encouraged, with most birds, to get closer than we thought possible. Great for photographers and people interested in wildlife as they were full of knowledge about raptors in general. It was brilliant for close up photos, and testing for getting good flying shots! Its not a zoo, more a living collection for enthusiasts and, as soon as I left I could not wait to get on the phone to tell people what a great day I had.

John B  29/4/17

 

Had a lovely up close experience with 4 amazing owls. Lisa has an obvious enthusiasm and love for what she does as well,as a lot of knowledge. Not to be confused with Battlefield falconary like I did lol :)

Dinah 20/3/17

 

Just attended an owl experience and it was fantastic. Knowledgeable hosts and well looked after owls. Amazing to be able to handle the owls up close. Definitely worth a visit

Susan Donald 19/3/17

 

Went to the Owl experience today and it was brilliant. Lisa and Steve were great, informative and good fun. The birds were beautiful up close as they flew onto your glove. We will be going again

Mark Roberts 19/3/17

 

Had a lovely time this morning at the falconry centre. I bought the owl experience for my fiancée for Christmas and she loved seeing all the different owls and finding out more information about then. Also loved how well kept the birds were and how friendly staff were. Would recommend to anyone.

Jon Haynes 19/3/17

 

Booked an owl experience for 3 generations of our family. Had an absolutely brilliant time. Lisa and Steve were fantastic…knowledgeable, friendly, fun .
Would definitely recommend and will be booking again

Lorraine Tranter 2/4/17

 

Visited today for a group owl experience. Had a fantastic experience and the falconers, Lisa and Stephen, were very approachable and made the experience fun. It is very clear that they are very experienced falconers and are so passionate about what they do it’s infectious.

I have done a few of these sessions with other groups but aside from the Barn Owl I flew all new Owls (and can’t decide whether or not the Long Eared Owl or the Boobook Owl is my new favourite Owl). I will definatley be going back for an individual experience Owl experience, hawk walk or even something else and am very interested in volunteering with them; if they will have me.

I cannot recommend them enough and would highly recommend a visit. You will not go away disappointed

Alan Merion Thomas 25/3/17

 

Took my Dad and his partner with my Granddaughter to the Owl experience today. All had a throughly entertaining time. We learnt a lot about the owls and how to maintain their welfare. Only improvement I would suggest is to Steve’s repertoire of owl jokes�

Linda Dodd 3/3/17

 

Purchased the owl experience for my daughter for her birthday. Brilliant day, great fun had by all in the group, think we were a lively group though lol. Lisa and Steve brilliant too and even had jokes thrown in too. Wish I had gotten a picture of Christopher though when he had a scratch and looked like he had a fright when his feathers were all over the place. Will be booking again for another experience

Michelle Stud 20/3/17

 

 

Dear Steve and Lisa

What a wonderful morning we had at your centre last Saturday morning. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for your warm welcome, also for the interesting and informative session with the owls. Your passion and commitment to the task is clear. I hope this important work continues to be successful, and that you enjoy it as much as your visitors.

Warwick  12/4/17

 

Just wanted to thank you both for a great morning yesterday. It was lovely to meet you both and all the Owls. We really enjoyed every minute handling and flying the owls and it was lovely to see the wonderful condition of all your birds. Particularly loved little Christopher white faced and the little brown scops owl. We both thought the Barn owls flying together was so spectacular. Keep up the good work and thank you both again. – Liz & Laurence Wigmore 23/2/2017

 

This was an amazing experience. The Owls were really looked after and you could see just how much the owners loved them and what they do. We got to handle and fly around 7 owls

Bill Nantwich 22/2/2017

 

From Groupon – A fabulous experience with a variety of owls. Lisa our host was very knowledgeable and there were plenty of laughs too. Highly recommend for all ages. 23 February, 2017

 

The whole experience was amazing! Lots of information given, a lovely place to visit. Lisa is very informative and will answer as many questions as you are able to think of. A fantastic experience and would definitely go again. We even had the added touch of receiving a balloon for valentines, thank you!

Sophie Simpson  12th Feb 2017

 

Excellent day out. The information I received on how to treat owls correctly is invaluable. I am now far more aware of Owl welfare. Thanks

Mike Jennings 15th Feb 2017

 

We spent a really enjoyable morning at the Owl Experience. The birds are stunning and obviously so well looked after. Lots of interesting information and I thought the awareness raising of the welfare of birds of prey in general was valuable. Sure we will be making a return trip!

 

Andrea O’Malley  8th Feb 2017

 

Brilliant owl experience today, will definitely be coming back in the future � friendly and informative staff, that truly love the birds, and beautiful, friendly owls. Great day out.

Louse Llowarch-Taylor Feb 2017

 

 

I took my daughter here today as she absolutely loves owls. We had the Owl experience and it was fantastic. Smiles all around. We were treated like family and told so much about the owls and the work that goes into looking after them. Thank you ever so much

Joanne Hardy Jan 2017

 

 

We had a really wonderful experience, it was well organised, we were welcomed with a hot drink and a mince pie. The birds were beautiful and we had plenty of time with them, it wasn’t just one quick fly and land then move on, they took their time. We had plenty of interesting information about the birds and the people running it. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Michelle Duggins Dec 2016

 

 

Me and my friend have just come back from an owl experience wow what can I say other than it was the best experience ever and the staff were fantastic and so passionate about all the animals but also Steve and Lisa made sure we all had a great time and made us feel so welcomed.. Thank you so much best afternoon ever

Cara Davies December 2016

 

 

Great day and a warm welcome. Welfare of the birds is their number one priority!

Harry Barfield Feb 2nd 2017

 

My sister bought for me an owl experience for Christmas which we attended today and it was absolutely wonderful. There were some very good touches, with there being a kitchen so you can get a brew before meeting the most beautiful creatures. I was wearing a yellow coat, which put off one of the owls (I think he was worried I was danger), but Lisa and Steve soon coaxed him around and he was flying back and forth with such happiness it melts ya heart. Will definitely be back – spread the word to your friends and please make a visit, you won’t regret it!!!

Tracy W (trip advisor review)

Jan 2017

 

Had a lovely morning with Lisa and Steve. We got to meet and handle a great selection of owls and our hosts were a mine of knowledge and kept us all informed and entertained as we took our turns. My personal favourite was probably Scooby the white faced owl who can’t wait to fly to you for a morsel but then just sits in your arm until you cave and walk him back to the perch. They were all clearly much loved and happy to take part. I would highly recommend

Tina

January 2017

 

A really great afternoon out, Lisa and Steve were very welcoming. The whole setup has obviously been properly thought out, and the personal touches such as a kitchen with hot drinks and snacks only added to an experience I’d recommend to anyone. These incredibly well looked after, friendly and beautiful birds really are a sight to see, up close and personal. Thank you for a really great day. We’ll be back soon!
Chat conversation end
 Lee H Wrexham( Trip advisor)
December 2016

 

Lovely atmosphere and venue, and the birds are very well looked after and clearly loved. Daughter and friend really enjoyed getting so close and flying the owls. Excellent value for a taster morning, highly recommended

 

 

A most enjoyable afternoon and it was good to see the Owls in flight and flying on to one,s gloved hand. The owners are passionate about owls and this is reflected in their presentation

 

Fantastic experience – up close with the owls & plenty of goes at flying them. Steve & Lisa are hugely knowledgable & clearly passionate about what they do. The session felt relaxed, personal & filled with humour too. Absolutely recommend this!!

 

 

Gift for my parents and they phoned as soon as finished to say thank you and how much they enjoyed it especially the grey owl! Would go again and recommend to anyone.

 

Excellent value for money. Small group of 8 people so we all got plenty of time with the owls – about 6 different owls. Lisa & Steve who run Shropshire Falconry are very knowledgeable and passionate about the birds. Highly Recommended.

 

I lost my car keys prior to setting off for the event whilst there was not much that could be done Shropshire Falconry were very understanding even offered a later that day session but my daughter has something planned. Lisa rang the next day and we have re-booked.

 

Wrap up warm in winter as a little chilly when flying the birds, but it is indoors so not wet. Take your camera, the birds are very well looked after and pose for you!

 

Lovely, friendly hosts and very informative about the owls, which were beautiful!

 

An asolutely enjoyable few hours. Well worth a visit. We were made to feel very welcome and the instruction was good . We fell of course fell in love with the birds. What amazing characters they were..

 

We had an absolutely amazing owl experience with Shropshire Falconry. The birds are obviously incredibly well looked after and loved. The staff are so knowledgable and clearly enjoy sharing their passion with you. Small groups, loads of time with the birds, I cannot recommend Shropshire Falconry enough!

 

 

My daughters had an amazing time The staff were really nice and friendly which made the experience much more enjoyable. If you know someone that likes owls this is well worth it. Thank you

 

Absolutely fabulous! Indoor activity but cold so wrap up well.  The owners are amazing. Funny and friendly. The venue is very clean and the birds are well cared for (loved/indulged ) The birds welfare are priority. I learned a lot The time went quickly I would definitely recommend this experience

 

Absolutely first class day with our son who is 12 years old. He loved the whole day and we were all looked after really well by Lisa and Steve (shame about the jokes Steve). Can’t recommend Shopshire Falconry enough if you want to experience these beautiful birds. Thanks again

Mark Wellings

 

My husband and I have just come back from the winter owl experience today. What an amazing time we had. Loved it, Lisa had so much knowledge and the owls were clearly all so well looked after and happy and enjoyed showing off their talents. A truly amazing experience we will be returning to do the Hunting day

Natalie Mcloud

 

 

Me and my friend have just come back from an owl experience wow what can I say other than it was the best experience ever and the staff were fantastic and so passionate about all the animals but also Steve and Lisa made sure we all had a great time and made us feel so welcomed.. Thank you so much best afternoon ever

Cara Davies

 

I had a wonderful time here today, it was more than I expected, not only was it up close and personal with a beautiful collection of owls, the people who run Shropshire falconry were very professional and welcoming happy to answer any questions and had abundance of knowledge about the birds. I would recommend to any animal lover and shall definitely be returning soon as well as purchasing vouchers for family Christmas gifts!! Thank you Shropshire falconry

Nina Pidgeon

 

Been here today for the owl experience .. wasn’t sure what to expect ! But if you want to get up close with these beautiful birds ! This is the place to go .. You are not treated like ” a person in the crowd ” this is a bespoke experience that gives everyone the chance to handle these wonderful birds. . Well done Shropshire falconry !!! We Loved loved loved it

Janet Preston

 

Had a wonderful time at my Owl Experience with Shropshire Falconry today. Cant recommend these guys highly enough. They are passionate about their birds & knowledgeable about their craft. The birds are stunning, whatever their size. Please go if you get the chance.

Jax Land

 

Fantastic time with Stephen, Lisa & the owls today, thank you so much for an incredible time flying Tikka, Beanie, Scooby, Diamond, Mojo & Burt (my favourite).
I can’t recommend you guys enough, and we’ll definitely be back again xx

Sheryl Leona

 

Absolutely brilliant day at the owl experience! I was a spectator and watch my parents enjoy the lovely experience of having owl fly to them. I learnt a lot about owls myself and I highly reccomend these guys! 10/10 from me

Jade Bardsley

 

‘ Just wanted to say thank you for a fabulous time yesterday. What a great way to spend a Sunday morning.It was wonderful to see the birds so close up and behaving as they would in the wild. You should be proud of what you have achieved. The set up was brilliant and we both thought that the relaxed friendly manner you offered added to what was already a wonderful experience.
We will have no problem recommending you to family and friends.Thank you once again.

Ros & Martin.

 

My wife got me an early Christmas present from groupon for a Christmas owl experience. I have an unusual fear of birds as I’m terrified of everything other than birds of prey, I’m fascinated by them and have been up close and personal to quite a few so I was really looking forward to my visit. The weather yesterday wasn’t brilliant but thankfully Shropshire Falconry have a fantastic indoor flying facility. We were greeted on arrival by Lisa and shortly after by Steve and his daughter Sophie. My wife is disabled and uses a mobility scooter and they couldn’t of been more helpful in getting her safely inside and comfortable. They had obviously gone to a great deal of trouble to ensure that each group that goes to one of these experiences has the best possible time and they are brilliant people that are incredibly passionate about their birds and their business. I’m not going to say what happens during the experience because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone that may read this before they go but needless to say I thought it was amazing, I learn’t a great deal and despite Steve’s best efforts the owls were definitely the stars of the show. So Lisa for me your 5 stars are still very much intact

Had a great time 😊 thank you Lisa and Steve .loved every minute of it thank you x

Julie Raven

 

Just wanted to say a HUGE Thank you for our birds of prey experience today! It was a really great surprise, as I had no idea where they were taking me…much better than the chickens I thought I was going to see haha!
It was a wonderful day, and you guys and all the animals are amazing!! My ultimate photo from the day has to be the cheeky selfie I snappe with little Tikka haha ❤️ Will definitely be recommending you to all my friends!

Rebecca Kelly

 

Had a wonderful time yesterday with gorgeous owls! Got some lovely photos.. and thank you to the gentleman who took the ones with an owl on my arm!! Lol 👍🏻 Fabulous morning! Thanks guys.

Julie

 

Excellent value. A delightful morning with experience of getting close up and “handling” a variety of owls (from a small Indian Scops to the larger Great Grey in our case, although no doubt these will vary). The couple who run the place are really friendly and knowledgeable and ensured all present had a chance to fly and hold each of the owls. It was in a large barn so would be suitable for all weathers. The venue is not open to the public, so booking is essential. Spectators get the same close proximity except that they don’t get to actually hold the birds. Other experiences with falcons are also available.

Carol Booth

 

Wonderful experience. Will definitely return for another experience, the keepers were obviously very experienced with the owls welfare their number one priority.
Loved being so close to the owls and equally felt at ease despite the size of some of the larger owls. My wife was nervous about the experience but as soon as she saw the smallest owl she fell in love and was completely relaxed. I would strongly recommend this experience for anyone who loves getting up close and personal with owls

Dave Chilling

 

Just wanted to say a HUGE Thank you for our birds of prey experience today! It was a really great surprise, as I had no idea where they were taking me…much better than the chickens I thought I was going to see haha!
It was a wonderful day, and you guys and all the animals are amazing!! My ultimate photo from the day has to be the cheeky selfie I snappe with little Tikka haha ❤️ Will definitely be recommending you to all my friends!

Rebecca Kelly

 

Had a wonderful time this morning flying so many different birds! We will be back for more!! Thank you so much for making it such a special experience. A thoroughly fantastic treat which we heartily recommend.

Sue Dewerson

 

Some photos from 10/08/2016. A fabulous day spent with Steve and Lisa and we can not thank them enough for a fabulous afternoon. 2 very passionate, very knowledgeable people who ooze enthusiasm for what they do.

Tony, Carol and Hana Stamp.

 

A fantastic day on the photographic course, great fun and laughter all day as well as learning how to photograph birds!

Liz Cleghorn

 

Thank you so much for a wonderful afternoon. My Mother-in-law bought this as part of my birthday present as it was one of the 50 things I wanted to do in the year leading up to my fiftieth. It was amazing. Can’t wait to come back

Natalie Lloyd